Yesterday at the CMA: Mantis Shrimp

Yesterday I started a part time gig at the gift shop at CMA.  On break, I went into the aquarium with my little point and shoot.  I’ve taken thousands of photographs at the CMA and didn’t expect anything terribly new, but when I approached the mantis shrimp tank I saw our mantis shrimp with his head peeking out of his tunnel.

Now I’ve seen him out and about before, usually when there’s feeding going on, but yesterday was NOT feeding day.  But after watching him for a few moments, and him watching me, he suddenly dashed out of his hole and headed to the glass looking right at me.  He turned this way and that, like he was giving me some good poses, gathered up some sand, then headed back down into his tunnel.

DSCF0001DSCF9996DSCF9997

Leave a Reply

